Why Hire a DWI Attorney?
Whether you have been arrested for your first time driving under the influence or you are facing a felony DWI charge, a Houston DWI attorney can help you fight your charges and protect your rights. Having an attorney that is knowledgeable and experienced in Texas DWI laws can be the difference between a dismissal and an extended sentence.
Arrested for a DWI?
Whether you are a first time offender or you are a repeat offender, DWI charges in Houston can have devastating consequences. These consequences can include jail time, fines, and even a license suspension. If you have been charged with a DWI, you need to retain an experienced Houston DWI lawyer to defend you.
The law is complicated. You need an experienced Houston DWI attorney to help you avoid jail time and fines. These penalties can impact your life for many years. They may affect your career and ability to support your family.
Generally speaking, a DWI is a misdemeanor. In the state of Texas, a first time offense can result in fines of up to $2000 and up to 180 days in jail. Those who have been convicted of a DWI may be required to attend an alcohol education program or a state approved rehab facility.
You may think that a first-time DWI in Houston is not something that should bother you. You may believe that there is no point in fighting the charges. But, there are many reasons to fight these charges. Your license can be suspended, you may lose your job, and you may have to disclose the charge on a job application.
You may not know what to do or where to turn. A DWI lawyer in Houston can help you understand what to expect and advise you on what to do next. They can also explain the legal process and help you negotiate a less-serious charge.
Fines For A DWI In Texas
Having a conviction for DWI in Texas can affect your life in many ways. You may be unable to drive, lose your job, and have to pay fines. A conviction may also affect your right to own a firearm. If you are convicted of a second or subsequent offense within five years, you may have to pay higher fines or spend time in jail.
The penalties for DWI in Texas are dependent on several factors, including your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) and whether you have a prior DWI conviction. You may also face additional administrative penalties, such as an ignition interlock device.
For the first offense, a fine of up to $2000 and a license suspension for up to one year are possible. The penalties are also harsher for a second or third DWI. For the second offense, you could be required to install an ignition interlock device in your vehicle.
A third DWI conviction can carry a fine of up to $10,000 and a state prison sentence of two to ten years. In addition, you may have to pay an annual surcharge of $2,000 for three years to restore your driver's license. Depending on your situation, you may also be required to pay a monthly probation fee.
If you are caught driving under the influence of alcohol with a minor in the car, you can be charged with a felony. You can also be required to pay a fine of up to $10,000.
What is an ALR Hearing?
During an ALR hearing, a judge will listen to the testimony of a defendant and decide the fate of his driving privileges. This hearing is important because it is the only chance a person has to fight his license suspension.
The hearing can last from two weeks to 120 days, depending on the facts and circumstances of the case. The length of suspension will vary depending on the defendant's past driving record and other factors. The judge will also consider evidence presented by the defense and the state.
If the court finds that you were guilty of driving while intoxicated, your license will be suspended for a period of up to two years. If you lose the ALR hearing, you can appeal the decision. If you win, your license will be reinstated.
ALR hearings are only available for a limited time after you have been arrested for DWI. If you do not request a hearing within fifteen days of your arrest, you will not have the chance to contest the suspension.
The ALR hearing is not a criminal proceeding, but a civil court process. An attorney will be present for the hearing. He or she will cross examine the arresting officer. The hearing is also an opportunity for discovery.
The ALR hearing is the legal equivalent of a short trial before an administrative law judge. You can find out more about the process by reading the Texas Transportation Code, which governs the ALR hearing.
First Time DWI Charges
Whether it is your first DWI or you're facing a second DWI, if you've been arrested for driving under the influence, you need to hire a Houston DWI attorney. A skilled attorney can help you avoid the worst of the penalties, including jail time and fines.
Depending on your situation, you may be able to avoid jail time and fines by agreeing to a probationary period. You may also be able to have the charge dismissed if you complete certain requirements and participate in an alcohol education program.
A DWI conviction can be devastating for you. Not only can you face fines and jail time, but you can also lose your driver's license for a year. You may also be required to pay a yearly surcharge to the state.
You should also know that a first-time DWI charge is considered a Class "B" misdemeanor. That means you can face fines up to $2,000 and up to 180 days in county jail. The exact fine depends on the judge's discretion.
First-time DWI offenders are also required to install Drunk Driving-Prevention Devices on their vehicles. This can include an ignition interlock device, which requires a breathalyzer test before starting the car.
For first-time DWI offenses, the state can impose a fine of up to $10,000. This may increase if your blood-alcohol concentration (BAC) was higher than the legal limit.
Facing Felony DWI Charges?
Felony DWI charges can have life-changing consequences. These charges can carry a significant penalty including jail time, high fines, and even the loss of your driver's license. If you have been charged with a felony DWI, you need to contact an experienced lawyer who can help you protect your rights and your future.
Felony DWI charges can vary in severity depending on the amount of alcohol in your system and the number of prior convictions you have. In New York, the penalty for a felony DWI is usually a term of imprisonment. Depending on the charge, you may also be required to install an ignition interlock device in your vehicle.
A felony DWI can also result in a mandatory alcohol evaluation and community service. For a second DWI, you may be required to complete a minimum of 90 days in jail.
A third DWI within five years is also a felony. You can also be charged with a felony for driving with an impaired license, or DUI while your license was revoked.
A felony DWI can also be charged if you injure another person while driving. This is a fairly common occurrence, and a felony charge will almost always be the result.
A felony DWI charge is often the result of a second or third DWI, and can be an extremely serious charge. If you are charged with a felony DWI, it is important to contact an experienced lawyer as soon as possible.
DUI vs. DWI in Texas
Oftentimes people confuse the terms DUI and DWI in Texas. However, the two words actually have very different meanings.
The definition of DUI in Texas is: driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs. This can be in many different forms, including drugs, alcohol, or a combination of drugs. The penalties for both DUI and DWI can differ depending on the individual.
The main difference between DUI and DWI in Texas is the age of the person being arrested. Those under the age of 21 can be charged with DWI if they are driving while under the influence of alcohol or drugs.
The other difference between DUI and DWI in Texas is that DUI is a misdemeanor. However, DWI is a felony. If the person is arrested for DWI, they may be required to attend a DWI education or DWI intervention program. The person may also have to pay an annual surcharge of up to $2,000 for three years.
The difference between DUI and DWI in Texas is more apparent in the penalties for the crime. The penalties for DWI are far more severe than those for DUI. They can include: paying a fine, attending an educational or intervention program, and installing an ignition interlock device on the vehicle.
A person may be charged with DUI if the blood alcohol content of their blood is over 0.08 percent. However, the minimum blood alcohol concentration to prove a DUI in Texas is 0.00 percent.If you are in need of a Houston DWI Lawyer, don't delay one more second, call the experts at the Butler Law Firm right now! The Butler Law Firm is 100% DWI Focused. With over 29 years experience, and a proven track record of success in the courtroom defending DWI breath test cases, DWI blood test cases, DWI cases involving accidents, and DWI cases where impairment by drugs is alleged, the Butler Law firm is here, ready, and capable of defending your charges. Call us at (713) 236-8744 and see what we can do to start helping you today!